Nuchal Cords: the perfect scapegoat

Vicky:

Fascinating reading. I’m reblogging this so I can read back again later.

Originally posted on MidwifeThinking:

Edited and updated: April 2013

To get this blog going I decided to write about a slight obsession of mine: The fear of, and routine midwifery management of nuchal cords at birth (umbilical cord around the neck). I have written and presented about this topic and have bored the pants off many a person who has made the mistake of mentioning the subject. So, despite telling my colleagues that I had put away my ‘nuchal cord’ soap box I am bringing it out to launch this blog. The content of this post is based on part of a literature review I carried out for my PhD thesis. If you are interested in finding out more, or seeing the reference sources for the following information you can download a journal article here, a poster here, or my full literature review in my thesis here.

Why and how babies…

View original 1,602 more words

Leave a Reply

